New Delhi: Senior drag-flicker Sandeep Singh and forward Shivendra Singh on Wednesday returned to the Indian men's hockey team for the FIH World League Round 3 (semi-finals) to be held at Rotterdam, The Netherlands from June 13-23.
Sandeep, who was left out of the Indian squad for the FIH Hockey World League Round 2 held earlier this year, made a comeback to the national side along with Shivendra, who last played for India in last year's London Olympics.
Sandeep, incidentally, was part of the Indian squad that went to The Netherlands in April for an invitational tour.
Sardar will continue to lead the 18-member squad while drag-flicker V R Raghunath has been named his deputy.
Notable absentees from the squad are midfielder Danish Mujtaba and Gurvinder Singh Chadi as both are injured. While Gurvinder continues to be in the sidelines because of a prolonged ankle injury, Danish is suffering from a ligament tear.
The squad has two goal-keepers in P R Sreejesh and P T Rao, four defenders, five mid-fielders and seven forwards.
The senior men's team is currently based at the Netaji Subhas Southern Centre (NSSC), Bangalore where they are attending a national camp, which started on May 16, as final preparations for the upcoming tournament.
The team will depart for Rotterdam on June 5 and its opening match is scheduled against Ireland on June 13.
India is placed in pool B alongside the hosts, New Zealand and Ireland while Australia, Spain, Belgium and fourth team (to be known after the conclusion of the final tournament of FIH World League Round 2 on June 2) will form pool A.
India had qualified for the FIH World League Round-3 (semi-finals) in February this year. The FIH World League is also the qualifier for the World Cup 2014 to be played in Hague, the Netherlands.

Goalkeepers: P R Sreejesh, P T Rao
Defenders: VR Raghunath (vice-captain), Sandeep Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Harbir Singh Sandhu      

Midfielders: Birendra Lakra, Sardar Singh (captain), Manpreet Singh, Kothajit Singh, Gurmail Singh
SV Sunil, Shivendra Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Nithin Thimmaiah, Dharamvir Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh.


Latest News from Sports News Desk