Shimla: Five candidates, including HLP contestant from Jaswan-Paragpur constituency, on Thursday filed their nominations for Himachal assembly polls, taking the total number of nominations to seven.

Naveen Dhiman of Himachal Lokhit Party (HLP) and four independent candidates filed their nominations on the second day allotted for the process.

BJP candidate from Mandi (Sadar) seat D D Thakur and an independent contestant had filed nominations on Wednesday.

In Himachal Pradesh, the filing of nomination for 68 assembly seats will end on October 17 and scrutiny will take place on October 18. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is October 20.

Polling would take place in one phase on November 4. 7,252 polling stations will be established in Himachal Pradesh for an electorate of 45.16 lakh.

Meanwhile, Chief Electoral Officer, Narinder Chauhan said the Election Commission of India has allotted "telephone" and "television" as election symbols to two unrecognized registered parties HLP and Swabhiman Party respectively.

Chauhan also issued instructions to all District Magistrates in Himachal regarding the printing and publication of election pamphlets and posters.


Latest News from Himachal Pradesh News desk