The Chennai players - Mark Philippoussis, Martina Hingis, Mikhail Youzhny and Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan - will now represent the Hyderabad franchise, according to the organisers.

Hyderabad will host Bangalore on November 17 in their first match of the league.

"The Chennai franchise requested us to move their participation to the following year and we would seriously consider their participation in Season 2 after the completion of our inaugural season," Vijay Amritraj, the brain behind the league, said in a release.

"We are delighted to welcome the city of Hyderabad in our inaugural edition. We have been in constant conversations with a variety of groups in the tennis-loving city and we are confident that together we will be able to promote tennis in the region," he said.

Latest News from Sports News Desk