“I am glad & honoured that people from all walks of life will join the swearing in ceremony. I welcome them,” Modi tweeted.

Thanking his voters and friends who supported him in his journey, he wrote, “A big thank you to all friends who will be viewing the ceremony on TV and through social media. Your constant support & blessings mean a lot.”

President Pranab Mukherjee will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Modi and his Council of Ministers at a function in the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhawan at 6 pm this evening.

Nearly 4000 guests are expected to attend the ceremony.

Top leaders from SAARC countries including Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala, Afghan President Hamid Karzai, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom, Bhutan Prime Minister TsheringTobgay, Bangladesh Parliament Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury and Mauritius Prime Minister Navin Ramgoolam will attend the ceremony.

This is the first time that the heads of SAARC nations have been invited to attend the function.

Outgoing Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, leaders of various other political parties and Chief Ministers of several states will be present on the occasion.

Elaborate arrangements are in place for the smooth conduct of the swearing-in ceremony.


Latest News from India News Desk