"I am quite happy with the new set of board members," said Pawar after Jagmohan Dalmiya was unanimously elected president at the BCCI AGM here today.

Asked about contesting in the elections, Pawar said: "I was not supposed to contest...according to constitution this was the time for someone from east (zone) side and someone has to contest from that belt only."

Srinivisan loyalist Sanjay Patel lost the post of secretary by one vote to BJP's Anurag Thakur. Pawar said the result showed that Srinivasan did not rule the board.

"Somebody was claiming that the entire board was under his thumb, so this result has shown that is not the situation," said Pawar.

However, not all is lost for Srinivasan as the AGM ratified his position as the ICC Chairman, according to a top official.

The development did not go down well with Aditya Verma, the petitioner in the IPL spot-fixing case.

"We will file contempt case against the BCCI. How can they approve Srinivasan's name for the ICC post before completion of justice Lodha committee findings?
"Hope under the leadership of th experienced Dalmiya ji, BCCI will do well. I also congratulate Anurag Thakur for his new innings," said Verma.

Latest News from Sports News Desk