"There will be a bonus point for the winners of each tie, plus points for the number of matches won. For example, if one team blanks another team 5-0, the winners would get six points, while for 4-1 and 3-2 verdicts the points awarded to the winning team would be 5 and 4, respectively," IBL sources said.
"Also, the teams losing 2-3 or 1-4 would stand to gain 2 or 1 point, respectively," they added. Each tie would consist of two men's singles, one men's doubles, one mixed doubles and one women's singles matches.
The inaugural edition of IBL involving six franchises is to be held from August 14-31 in six cities across the country. The six franchise teams to take part in the league are: Delhi Smashers, Hyderabad Hotshots, Banga Beats (Bangalore), Mumbai Masters, Lucknow Warriors and Pune Pistons.
At the auctions held in Delhi on Monday, men's world no. 1 shuttler Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia and India's stalwart Saina Nehwal were the costliest buys by Mumbai and Hyderabad for USD 135,000 and 120,000, respectively.


Latest News from Sports News Desk