Scorecard: Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

Electing to bat at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Sri Lanka rode on Dilshan's 161 and Sangakkara's 105 to notch up a formidable 332 for one in the stipulated 50 overs.

The islanders, winner of the 1996 edition, then bowled out Bangladesh for 240 in 47 overs to register their second win in three matches. They had lost to New Zealand in the their tournament opener but regrouped to beat Afghanistan before today's result.

Sangakkara became the fourth cricketer to appear in 400 ODIs.

After the Dilshan-Sangakkara duo laid a solid foundation with a 210-run unbeaten partnership for the second wicket, experienced pace spearhead Lasith Malinga (3/35) led the bowling unit admirably to complete an all-round display by the runner-up of the previous tournament.

Chasing a stiff target, Bangladesh, who have so far failed to make an impression in the mega-event, never looked in the hunt as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

Aggressive opener Tamim Iqbal was out for a duck and Mominul Haque made one run to leave the Asian minnows reeling at 41 for three.

Anamul Haque (29), Soumya Sarkar (25 off a mere 15 balls with the help of five boundaries) and Mahmudullah (28) all got starts but could not convert into big scores.

Lower-order batsman Sabbir Rahman was the top-scorer for Bangladesh with a knock of 53 off 62 balls (7x4), while all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan contributed a 59-ball 46 with the help of four boundaries and a six before the Lankan bowlers ran through the tail.

Besides Malinga, Dilshan and Suranga Lakmal picked up two wickets apiece, while there was one apiece for skipper Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera.

Earlier, Sri Lanka lost opener Lahiru Thirimanne's (52) wicket on 122 before a double century stand propelled them to a commanding total.

Lanka had an edgy start after Thirimanne was dropped off the fourth ball of the innings when Anamul Haque spilled a sitter at first slip to leave pace spearhead and captain Mashrafe Mortaza disappointed.

The left-handed Thirimanne continued to live dangerously after surviving another half chance off Mortaza, somehow managing to register his 12th ODI half-century in 78 deliveries, his innings laced with three boundaries.

Sharing the new ball with Mortaza, medium-pacer Hossain finally scalped Thirimanne in the 25th over. The veteran Sagakkara joined Dilshan at the crease and the duo soon found their groove even as Mortaza kept shuffling his bowlers.

Dilshan, who registered his 21st ODI hundred en route to his 146-ball knock hit 22 boundaries but not a single six - a record. Sagakkara was also in the attack mode as the left-hander scored 13 fours and a six in his 76-ball stay at the crease.

The left-right batting combination proved deadly for the Tigers, who had no answers to the onslaught. If the duo changed gears in the powerplays then they cut loose in the final five overs to fetch 58 runs.

Sangakkara though was dropped twice during his stay, once on 23 off Taskin Ahmed in the 33rd over and then off Hossain in the 41st over as the Bangla fielding told a sorry tale. Making full use of the lives, Sangakkara soon stepped out to the far-from-convincing Bangladesh bowling in the final ten overs to pulverise the attack.

The wicketkeeper-batsman not only registered his 22nd ODI ton but also his fastest - off 73 balls.


Bangladesh -
Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain

Sri Lanka - Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal.

Latest News from Sports News Desk