Out of total eight teams, which will take on each other to advance for the semi-finals, four teams are from the Indian subcontinent.

However, only two Asian teams, defending champions India and Bangladesh will face each other in the last eight stage of the tour.

By bagging the numero uno spot in Pool B, India has qualified for the quarterfinals and it will take on another Asian team Bangladesh, which finished at the fourth spot in Pool A, on March 19 at the historic MCG.

Bangladesh had defeated India in the league stages of the 2007 events. India had failed to surpass the league stage in the 2007 World Cup.

Pakistan, which has a topsy-turvy journey so far in the 14-nation tournament, has qualified for the last eight stage by defeating Ireland in its last league match. Pakistan finished at the fourth spot in Pool B and it will take on mighty Australia, also the co host of the tournament, on March 20 at the Adelaide Oval.

Another Pool B team South Africa, which finished at the second spot
after India, will face in-form Sri Lanka in the first quarterfinals of the tournament at SCG on March 18.

                                                                                SRI LANKA
While in the last quarterfinals of the World Cup, West Indies will take on co host New Zealand at Wellington on March 21.

Latest News from Sports News Desk