Amla's attacking 128-ball 159 and du Plessis' 109 off as many balls powered South Africa to a mammoth 411 for four, the second highest score in the World Cup history. India's 413 for five against Bermuda in the 2007 edition remains the highest score.

Scorecard: South Africa vs Ireland

Hashim Amla slams 159 against Ireland to break another Virat Kohli's record

Full World Cup Schedule

The two batsmen put up an impressive 247-run partnership for the second wicket as Amla hit 16 fours and four sixes, while du Plessis struck 10 boundaries and a six. Later David Miller and Rilee Rossouw went hammer and tongs as South Africa scored 230 in the last 20 overs, leaving the Irish bowlers bruised and battered. The last 8.3 overs fecthed 110 runs.

World Cup Photos

During their belligerent unbroken partnership, Rossouw found the fence six times and cleared it thrice in his 30-ball 61, while Miller hit four boundaries and two sixes in his 23-ball 46. Andy Balbirnie (58) and Kevin O Brien (48) were the only Ireland batsmen who resisted the fierce Proteas pace attack with their fighting knocks while others crumbled as the team was bowled out for 210.

Hyle Abbott gave away only 21 runs in his eight overs and took four wickets while Dale Steyn (2/39) dismissed two batsmen as Ireland were shot out in 45 overs.

In South Africa's innings, skipper A B de Villiers, who had smashed the world record for the fastest 150 in their previous game against the West Indies, missed out but still made 24 off just nine balls with two sixes and a four. Against the Caribbeans last week, South Africa had amassed 408 for five.

Spinner Andy McBrine, who was called for this match, was the most successful bowler for Ireland, eturning figures of two for 63. The Irish paid the price for dropping both Amla and du Plessis earlier in the innings, allowing the batsmen to set themselves up for a severe punishment.

The Proteas not only found the fence with consummate ease but also ran the singles and twos regularly, adding to Ireland's misery. South Africa have won all three of the previous ODIs against Ireland, two of which have come at World Cups - 2007 and 2011.


South Africa -
Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers (captain), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Kyle Abbott, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir.

Ireland - William Porterfield (captain), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O'Brien, Andrew Balbirnie, Gary Wilson, Kevin O'Brien, John Mooney, Max Sorensen, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine.

Latest News from Sports News Desk