Sri Lanka thus became third time lucky in the World T20 summit clash while Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s dream to win a record third World title lay in tatters as his team faltered when it mattered the most.

Despite Virat Kohli’s belligerent 77, Yuvraj Singh’s excruciatingly slow innings of 11 off 21 balls left India with a very modest score 130 for four in 20 overs. Kohli’s brilliance went down the drain due to Yuvraj’s struggle.
Sri Lanka faced a few anxious moments in the early stages of the chase but eventually overhauled the target with 13 balls to spare.
It turned out to be a ‘fitting finale’ for the two retiring legends of Sri Lankan cricket as Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara certainly made it a ‘farewell to remember’ as the champions ended their T20 careers with a memorable triumph.  
Mahela’s 24 was a sweet little innings which set the tempo while Sangakkara anchored it to perfection with an unbeaten 52. He again proved to be a thorn in the flesh for the Indians as he chose the final of the tournament to claw his way back to form after indifferent first five matches.
The match decisively swung in Sri Lanka’s favour in the 15th over in which Thisara Perera (17 no) chanced his arms to hit Amit Mishra over long-on while Sangakkara swept him fine to get a boundary. 15 runs came off that over and the match was as good as over by then.
In Mishra’s next over, Sangakkara hit him over extra cover for a boundary while Thisara again hit the portly leggie for a six. Mishra went for 32 from four overs and would like to forget his last two matches after a good start.
While Sangakkara made it a 'Farewell to Remember', Yuvraj Singh, may face the ire of Indian cricket fans as his slow batting completely upset the momentum for the Indians.
Sangakkara completed his 50 off 33 balls with a sweep and was egged on by the hero of 1996 World Cup Sanath Jayasuriya.

Statistical highlights:
# Sri Lanka won the World Twenty20 title for the first time. Five nations have won the title once each -- India (2007-08), Pakistan (2009), England (2010), West Indies (2012-13) and Sri Lanka (2013-14).
# Virat Kohli has become the first Indian player and the second to post four half-centuries in a T20I tournament. Matthew Hayden was the first batsman to achieve the distinction in the 2007-08 ICC World competition.
# Kohli has established a batting record in T20Is with his superb aggregate of 319 (ave.106.33) in six matches, bettering Sri Lankan Tillakaratne Dilshan's tally of 317 (ave.52.83) in seven games at the ICC World Twenty20 2009.
# Kohli received his second Player of the Series award in T20Is -- both against Sri Lanka.
# Yuvraj Singh could score just 11 runs off 21 balls at a strike rate of 52.38 -- the third slowest by an Indian batsman in T20Is ( Dhoni had made 9 off 27 balls against Australia at Melbourne on February 1, 2008 -- the slowest by an Indian batsman (minimum 20 balls).
# India (130 for four) recorded their lowest first innings score in a World Twenty20 final, eclipsing West Indies' 137 for six against Sri Lanka at Colombo (RPS) on October 7, 2012.

# Virat Kohli (77 off 58 balls) posted his eighth fifty in 27 T20Is, equalling Yuvraj Singh's tally of eight fifties in 40 T20Is. Both share an Indian record for most 50s in T20Is.
# Kohli's knock is the highest by an Indian batsman against Sri Lanka in T20Is. His batting average of 72.00 is the highest at the World Twenty20 -- his tally is 504 in eleven innings, including six fifties. (minimum ten innings).
# Kohli's innings is the highest by a batsman in a losing cause in a World Twenty20 final -- the second highest behind Marlon Samuels' 78 vs Sri Lanka at Colombo (RPS) on October 7, 2012.
# Mahela Jayawardene became the first Indian player to aggregate 1,000 runs at the World Twenty20 -- his tally being 1016 (ave.39.07) in 31 matches.
# Kumar Sangakkara, thanks to his match-winning knock, received his third Man of the Match award in T20Is – his second against India.
# Sangakkara's unbeaten 52 is his eighth fifty in T20Is -- his third against India. He became the first player to post two fifties at the World T20 finals. He had scored an unbeaten 64 against Pakistan at Lord's on June 21, 2009.
# With 1382 (ave.31.40) in 56 matches,  Sangakkara has established a record for most runs as a wicketkeeper in T20Is, bettering the 1352 (ave.37.55) in 42 matches by Brendon McCullum.
# Sangakkara's aggregate of 1382 (ave.31.40) in 56 matches is the fifth highest runs' tally in T20Is.


Latest News from Sports News Desk