The government employees organizations and other pro-united Andhra Pradesh outfits had announced that they would like to see the Independence Day celebrated without any trouble.
The ministers from the two regions hoisted the tricolor at district headquarters, though there was some apprehension that they may face the wrath of united Andhra Pradesh supporters.
Medical Education Minister Kondru Murali Mohan unfurled the National Flag in Srikakulam district. Tourism Minister V Vasant Kumar hoisted the tricolour in West Godavari while Revenue Minister N Raghuveera Reddy led the celebrations in Anantapur district.
YSRCP MLA Gurunath Reddy squatted on the ground to voice protest during the official function in Anantapur district. Rallies, sit-ins, human chains, community kitchens, fasts and other forms of protest were organized at various places in the two regions.
Some pro-united Andhra employees have begun an indefinite strike since the midnight of August 12. No major incident of violence was reported.


Latest News from India News Desk