Here, we bring some interesting facts of Nitish Kumar's political journey:

1. Nitish Kumar joined Ram Manohar Lohiya's youth wing, Samajwadi Yuvajan Sabha in 1971.

2. He participated in Jayaprakash Narayan's movement against Congress between 1974 and 1977.

3. He was arrested under the Maintenance of Internal Security Act during infamous Emergency.

4. Three times CM of Bihar had unsuccessfully contested first assembly elections on Janata Party ticket in 1977.

5. Nitish Kumar was president of Yuva Lok Dal, Bihar in 1987–88.

6. He was appointed as secretary general of Janata Dal, Bihar. He was elected as a Member of Parliament for the first time in 1989.

7. Nitish Kumar was inducted into VP Singh Cabinet as Union Minister of State for Agriculture and Cooperation in 1990.  

8. Later, he joined Atal Bihar Vajpayee-led NDA government as Union Minister for Surface Transport in 1999.

10. He also took charge of Ministry of Railways in Vajpayee government in 2001.

11. Nitish Kumar became Chief Minister of Bihar for the first time for 7 days only in 2000.

11 Nitish Kumar was elected as Chief Minister of Bihar for the second time with BJP's support in 2005.

12. JD-U in alliance with BJP got over three-fourth majority in Bihar Assembly polls and Nitish Kumar took oath of CM for third time.

13. Taking moral responsibility of JD-U's defeat in last general elections, Nitish Kumar resigned as CM.

14. Nitish Kumar replaced Jitan Ram Manjhi as Chief Minister of the state after political difference with the later.

15. He is widely known as 'Sushasan babu' (person known for good governance). During his Cheif Ministerialship, 50,000 criminals were put behind bars under between 2005-2010.

Read more news on Nitish Kumar's swearing-in ceremony

>>Over two lakh people, eight Chief Ministers to attend Nitish Kumar's grand swearing-in ceremony

>>Opposition to show strength during Nitish Kumar's oath ceremony

Latest News from India News Desk