This brigade adapted itself to the game in the manner as if they were waiting for such show to quench their run thirst.  Whereas Gayle emerged as ‘Six Machine’, his sidekick in IPL Kohli incarnated himself as the nemesis of the bowlers.

Since the inception of IPL in 2007, many individuals have set many milestones. Over the years, the race for the ‘Orange Cap’  which is awarded to the highest  run scorer of the tournament, has become a closely fought battle since the likes of Gayle influenced the batting style in the shortest format.

Here, we bring the big guns of IPL who earned the Orange Cap:

IPL9 2016:  Though, Royal Challengers Bangalore’s skipper Virat Kohli missed to lift the IPL trophy 2016, he stole the fans’ hearts by scoring an unprecedented 973 runs including 4 tons. Maintaining a strike rate of 152.03 and an average of 91.9, Kohli slammed 7 half centuries as well.

IPL 8 2015:
Placing himself as the second top scorer with  779 runs in the just concluded IPL 9, Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper David Warner had been crowned with the Orange Cap as he posted 562 run in IPL 8.

IPL 7 2014: 
Kolkata Knight Riders’ wicket-keeper batsman RV Uthappa won the Orange Cap by scoring 660 runs in 2014.

IPL 6 2013: Playing for the now defunct IPL team Chennai Super Kings, Australian cricketer Michael Hussey had earned the Orange Cap by posting 733 runs in 2013.

IPL 5 2012: Known for blasting mammoth sixes, Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Chris Gayle had consecutively received the Orange Cap for the second time by piling up 733 runs in the tournament.

IPL 4 2011:  One of the most destructive batsmen in the T20s, Chris Gayle got the Orange Cap by scoring 608 runs for his team Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011.

IPL 3 2010: The God of cricket, Sachin Tendulkar was crowned with the Orange Cap by scoring 618 runs while playing for Mumbai Indians in 2010.

IPL 2 2009: Former Australian opener Matthew Hayden earned the Orange Cap by scoring 572 runs for his team Chennai Super Kings in 2009.

IPL 1 2008: 
Australian cricketer Shaun Marsh received the first ever Orange Cap by posting 616 runs for his team Kings XI Punjab in 2008.

Written by Raju Kumar/JPN

Latest News from Sports News Desk