Let us have a look at their chances of making it big in the tournament:


Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wk), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Ashish Nehra, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ajinkya Rahane, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi, Parthiv Patel

Confidence gained from clinching two T20 series back-to-back will prove to be India's biggest strength in the competition. 'Men In Blue' will surely look to cash-in the pressure such a successful run creates on other sides.

Opening batsmen Sharma and Dhawan are in miraculous form and together they can bring opposition to its knees.

Presence of multiple all-rounders like Yuvraj, Ashwin and Jadeja along with T20 veterans like Harbhajan has made India capable of sailing through the most challenging conditions on field.

Inconsistency in performance during later stages of the game has been a matter of concern for the team. India's recent fixtures have resulted in a lot of fingers being raised on Dhoni's match finishing skills and pressure handling capacity of tail-end batsmen, both of which can prove to be team's undoing.


Squad: Shahid Afridi (c), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Muhammad Sami, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Khurram Manzoor, Sharjeel Khan


Young team full of fresh faces who have performed and proved their worth in PSL, Pakistan's version of Indian Premier League. This includes Nawaz, Sharjeel and Manzoor who impressed the selectors in the domestic tournaments and also during recent Pakistan A team tours.

Return of tainted pacer Mohammad Amir will also serve as great advantage for the team. His recent performance against New Zealand enabled him to get a happy welcome from his side. Wahab Riaz, Amir and Mohammad Irfan make for a brilliant bowling combination which can bring down the strongest batting attack when in form.

The decision to play a completely new team can backfire. It would be intimidating to compete against a side like India which is on a winning high after two consecutive series victories at home and abroad.

Sri Lanka:

Squad: Lasith Malinga (c), Angelo Mathews (vc), Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella, Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardana, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Jeffrey Vandersay.

Lanka's biggest strength is their outstanding T20 figures. Change in Asia Cup format from ODI to T20 will prove to be advantageous for the team as they have gained almost an unbeatable expertise in T20 format. Also, comeback of seasoned players like Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath and Nuwan Kulasekara will add the required and desperately needed fire to their side.

With 'yorker king' Malinga in their squad, the onus of collecting runs is on the shoulders of Chandimal, who is attempting to adapt to T20s, veteran batsman Dilshan and understated Angelo Mathews. The team is a mix of old and new players and this could totally work in their favour in the subcontinent.

The famous Lankan 'spin attack' has lost its charm and infact, is non-existent for most part. 'The Lions' will miss the presence of match-winners like Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene. In this scenario, newbies like Dasun Shanaka will come under direct spotlight and a lot will be expected of them.


Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Soumya Sarkar, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Arafat Sunny, Abu Hider, Nurul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah

Energy of Bangladesh squad gets increased by manifolds on home-soil, a fact which was re-instated with their victory over champions like India, Pakistan and South Africa. They have the advantage of having familiarity with the pitch and their own people cheering and encouraging them through thick and thin.

Their bowling attack will be led by skipper Mashrafe Mortaza, who will be assisted in the attempt by Mustafizur Rahman. It's a good chance for inexperienced Taskin to prove his mettel. With no big names in the batting line-up, Shakib Al Hasan will be have to lead by example, the likes of Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed and Arafat Sunny.

Team will majorly miss the presence of Tamim Iqbal who is one of their biggest asset. With their poor run in T20s, Iqbal's absence will severely hurt the team and may lead to its dream of winning the big ticket tournament dashed to the ground.

By: Ira Shukla

More news on Asia Cup

Latest News from Sports News Desk