After Kanyakumari became part of Tamil Nadu in 1956, the Kanyakumari Devaswom Board was formed to manage 490 temples, a women's college and three schools, a government release said.
The temples and institutions were facing financial crunch and therefore Chief Minister Jayalalithaa has directed that the annual grant of Rs one crore given for their maintenance and management be increased to Rs three crore.
She also announced enhancing the monthly pension of priests of temples not covered under direct control of Hindu Religious and Charitable Endownments Department, and those with 20 years of service, from Rs 750 to Rs 1000.


Latest News from State News Desk