The Chief Minister's Police Medal for Outstanding Service was conferred on Kolkata Police Commissioner Surojit Kar Purokayastha, Bidhannagar Police Commissioner Rajeev Kumar and IGP Western Zone Siddhi Nath Gupta.

Chief Minister's Police Medal for Commendable Service were conferred on Deputy Commissioner of Police, Central Division, Devendra Prakash Singh, Superintendent of Police, Burdwan district, S M H Meerza and Superintendent of Police, West Midnapore district, Bharati Ghosh.

The state government departments which received the award for commendable service were department for Rural and Panchayat development, women and child welfare, fianance, small scale industries, health and family welfare.

The district administration of Hoogly, Nadia, Burdwan and Birbhum were also conferred awards for commendable service.

People across West Bengal today celebrated the 68th Independence Day taking out colourful processions, organising parades and cultural programmes.

In Kolkata, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee unfurled the tricolour on Red Road and received a guard of honour from the Kolkata police.

Cultural programmes were held by school children and various artistes at the Red Road venue showcasing the cultural heritage of the country.

In the districts, political parties hoisted flags at party offices and organised cultural shows, some of which began from the previous night.

Security has been tightened in the metropolis and bordering districts of West Bengal for the occasion.

Latest News from State News Desk