Dehradun: Amid hung assembly in the hill state, the race between the BJP and the Congress to form the new government has become more intense.  Both parties have started wooing three elected independent MLAs set to play a decisive role in the formation of new government.

The three independents share some common aspects which has fuelled speculations that they may collectively support one party either the BJP or the Congress in the state. The first factor is that all three were earlier elected MLAs on Congress ticket but this time they were denied ticket from the party.

The Congress denied ticket to Mantri Prasad Naithani who won from Devprayag constituency and MLA Harish Durgapal from Lalkuan. Both had emerged victorious in 2007 on Congress ticket, while former Congress worker Dinesh Dhane who won Tehri seat as independent, turned dissident after he was denied party ticket in Tehri Municipal elections during the tenure of  MP Harish Rawat as state party chief.

Reportedly, all the three MLAs have resentment toward Rawat which can turn the tide in favour of the BJP.

The second aspect is that Dhane has been one of the potent supporters of Naithani since the university days. They were also seen pushing for each other’s victory during the polls.

It will not be surprising if these three independent MLAs who share some common factors might extend their valuable support to the BJP.