JPN: It is absolutely superb, India are World Cup champions. Chasing a competitive total India's batting was spearheaded by Dhoni and Gambhir who led the team to a six wicket win in the summit clash over Sri Lanka.


Gambhir looked all set to stroke a century in a WC final but lost his cool and threw it way at 97.

India skipper MS Dhoni came in at a time when India looked rattled but captain cool played a captain's knock to take India to WC glory.

A stunning catch from Tillakratane Dilshan off his own bowling led to the downfall of Virat Kohli who had put on a healthy partnership with Gautam Gambhir.

If India ever needed Gautam Gambhir to fire badly, it was today and the so far the diligent left-hander is playing out of his skins to take his side home. Gambhir with another ODI fifty.

After the loss of early wickets Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli were batting sensibly and stand in Sri Lanka's way at the moment.

Lasith Malinga was unstoppable, after napping Virender Sehwag, the slinger has pickep up his Mumbai Indian skipper Sachin Tendulkar. India was in trouble.

Malinga bowled a beauty and trapped dangerous Virender Sehwag plum in fron of wickets in his first over. India with a dreadful start.

Mahela ton guides Lanka to 274/6

A splendid ton from Mahela Jayawardene has taken Sri Lanka to a fighting total of 274 for six in their 50 overs.Zaheer Khan had now equaled Shahid Afridi's tally of 21 wickets in the tournament and is ruling the roost at the moment.

Yuvraj Singh again dented the Lankans with a timely wicket of Samaraweera, who had put on a swift fifty run stand with Mahela at the other end.

SL skipper Kumar Sangakkara lost his cool and his wicket just when the team wanted him the most. Yuvraj Singh provoded India another breakthrough.

Sri Lanka were in mini-crisis at the moment, behind the run-rate, two wickets down and Indians on top. Bhajji got the ball to turn and bounce as he got the better of Dilshan.

Zaheer Khan was pumped up for the big occasion and is giving some hard time for the SL batsmen. Upul Tharanga found it hard to find the meat of the bat and edged one of Zaheer, Sehwag completed a brilliant catch.

India's opening bowling pair of Zaheer Khan and Sreesanth are hitting good areas right from the word go, giving nothing away to SL opening batsmen.

Sri Lanka skipper Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and chose to bat first in the summit clash of the WC 2011 at Wankhede, Mumbai.

India break jinx of WC win by host nation

When MS Dhoni hit the six to take India home and earn them the World Cup triumph after 28 years, the entire nation went out on an all out celebration mood and with the splendid win India have broken away the jinx of WC victory by the host nations.

When India crossed the finish line after overhauling Sri Lanka's stiff target of 275, it was the first-ever time in the tournament's history that the nation hosting the grand finale had come out trumps.

England had hosted the competition on four times (1975-1983 and 1999) without tasting success even once.
India was the co-hosts of the 1987 edition along with Pakistan, and Allan Border's Australians beat Mike Gatting's England at the Eden Gardens to snatch away the top prize.

Five years later, Australia hosted the final (the tournament's joint co-hosts being New Zealand), and it was the turn of the Imran Khan-led Pakistan to lift the trophy.

In 1996 though winners Lanka were the co-hosts of the tournament with India and Pakistan, but the final was held at Lahore.
After the 1999 tournament, won by Australia in England, Ricky Ponting led the Aussies to back-to-back title triumphs in 2003 (in South Africa) and in 2007 (in West Indies).

But tonight, egged on by a capacity crowd of 33,000, India created history as hosts of the summit clash by denying co-hosts Lanka the Cup as well as the top prize of USD 3 million.

Runners-up Sri Lanka pocketed USD 1.5 million. The triumph also placed India alongside the West Indies and Australia as the teams to have won the much-admired title on more than one occasion.

India team

V Sehwag, SR Tendulkar, G Gambhir, V Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni*†, SK Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Z Khan, MM Patel, A Nehra

Sri Lanka Team

KC Sangakkara*†, DPMD Jayawardene, TM Dilshan, CRD Fernando, HMRKB Herath, S Randiv, CK Kapugedera, KMDN Kulasekara, SL Malinga, BAW Mendis, M Muralitharan, NLTC Perera, TT Samaraweera, LPC Silva, WU Tharanga