Bangalore: Hosts India triumphed in the inaugural Blind Cricket Twenty20 World Cup after defeating Pakistan by 29 runs in the title clash.
After Ketan Bhai Patel guided India to 258 with a hurricane knock of 98, the hosts restricted the visitors to 229 for nine in the allotted 20 overs.
Batting first, Prakash Jayaramaiah made useful 42 while Vice-Captain Ajay Kumar Reddy contributed 25, helping India to post a competitive total.
For Pakistan, Mohammed Jameel scored a quickfire 47, Ali Murthaza struck 38 while Mohammed Akram helped himself to 32 runs.
Having won eight matches on the trot in the group stage, Pakistan could not maintain the winning streak when it mattered most.
India had only lost to Pakistan in the group stage and thrashed Sri Lanka in the semi-final.
Pakistan had spanked England by nine wickets in the semi-finals.
The victory is India's first in a World Cup final after they lost to Pakistan in 2006.


Latest News from Sports News Desk