The Indians first restricted West Indies to 263 for five and then overhauled the target with 23 balls to spare to lift yet another ODI trophy at home.
Shikhar Dhawan stole the limelight with an attacking 119 that came off 95 balls, his fifth ODI hundred, while Yuvraj Singh notched up a 74-ball 55 to seal the issue for the home side at the Green Park Stadium which was hosting an international game after a gap of nearly four years.


It was a welcome return to form for Yuvraj Singh, who cautiously put together 129 runs for the third wicket with Dhawan to set the platform for the easy win. 

Earlier, the trio of Kieran Powell, Marlon Samuels and Darren Bravo struck half-centuries to propel West Indies to a challenging total.
Powell (70) carried on his good form from the last match and registered his second fifty of the series. Together with Samuels (71), he shared a 117-run second-wicket partnership to lay the foundation for West Indies after the visitors were put into bat by India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni.
Towards the end, Darren Bravo (51 not out) and Darren Sammy (37 not out) played aggressively to take West Indies past the 260-run mark.
Comfortably placed at 137 for one at one stage, West Indies looked set for a big score but India staged a comeback with quick wickets to restrict West Indies to the manageable score.
For the hosts, off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was the pick of the bowlers with figures of two for 45 from his quota of 10 overs.

India's chase did not start on a very good note even though Dhawan made his intentions clear in just the second over of the innings when he clobbered Jason Holder thrice to the fence.
The hosts lost Rohit Sharma in the fifth over with just 20 runs on the board. Rohit gave a straight-forward catch to Dwayne Bravo at the first slip while trying to push at an away going delivery from Ravi Rampaul.
Virat Kohli looked in great touch during his brief 19-run stay but he too was undone by Rampaul's probing length outside the off stump.
While trying to leave a delivery at the last moment, the ball just brushed Kohli's bat on to the safe hands of wicket-keeper Johnson Charles.
But from there on it was a Dhawan-Yuvraj show as the duo went about its business in style and shared the run-a-ball century partnership.
Dhawan was the aggressive one among the two. The hallmark of Dhawan's innings was his elegant drives through the extra cover region and short-arm pulls.
Dhawan sent the West Indies bowlers' on a leather hunt and found the fence at will. He completely dominated the Caribbean attack and hit as many as 20 boundaries during his fiery knock.
By the time Yuvraj and Dhawan got out, they had ensured the series-clinching victory for India.
Yuvraj was caught by Dwayne Bravo at the slip off Sunil Narine in the 31st over but not before the left-hander reached his fifty which was laced with seven fours.
Dhawan finally departed in the 38th over, caught by Dwayne Bravo of his own bowling as the bat turned in his hand.
MS Dhoni (23 not out) and Ravindra Jadeja (2 not out) completed the formalities for India with consummate ease.

Dhoni's decision to bowl first after winning the toss did not yield the desired result as his bowlers could pick up just one wicket before Powell and Samuels joined hands to take West Indies forward.
Opener Johnson Charles (11) failed yet again when Bhuvneshwar Kumar went through his defence in the fifth over with a perfect inswinger leaving West Indies at 20 for one.
But thereafter Powell and Samuels got together and played sensibly, mixing caution with aggression to stitch a century stand for the second wicket and lay the foundation for a big total.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami and Mohit Sharma.
West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (C), Kieran Powell, Johnson Charles, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Darren Sammy, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul, Jason Holder and Ravi Rampaul.


Latest News from Sports News Desk