The honour is reserved not just for professional golfers but also for golfing business community, celebrities and bureaucrats who play the game. There are also special prizes for women, juniors, best golf courses, academies and even real estate around golf courses.

India's top players led by Arjun Atwal, Anirban Lahiri and Shiv Kapur will be in attendance along with European Tour's International Policy In-charge Ben Cowen and John Boyne from St Andrew's Professional Caddie Association.

Power Minister Piyush Goyal will be the chief guest for the evening.

Golf legend Arnold Palmer hailed the efforts of Indian golf ahead of the award ceremony.

"I believe we need to make golf as simple as we can for the international golfers. And of course a lot of the Indian people travel all over the world and learn to play golf in other international cities whether in Europe or America and that is very important. I believe new talent will grow and come from countries like India. We must promote the sport there," he said.

Gary Player who led the Jury for the event in the first edition said he was elated to see recognition for golfers.

"Thank you for helping a game I love so much and has done so much for me. I have been a professional golfer for 60 yrs, winning so many tournaments. There is no other sport like golf," he said.

Latest News from Sports News Desk