The ICC today unveiled the groups and schedule of the event, which will be staged across eight venues in India from March 8 to April 3. The two countries are currently undecided on whether to engage in a bilateral series later this month owing to political tensions.
1. India will open their campaign against New Zealand on March 15 in Nagpur before taking on Pakistan. India's other matches will be against the qualifying Group A winners in Bengaluru on March 23 and Australia in Mohali on March 27.
2. A total of 58 matches, including 35 men's and 23 women's games will be played in the 27-day tournament.
3. ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar, who attended the launch ceremony in Mumbai, said, "India is a country where cricket is a religion and not many places can match the passion for the game like India. I am fully confident that the Board of Control for Cricket in India will deliver an outstanding world cricket event, just like the ICC Cricket World Cups in 1987, 1996 and 2011”.
4. BCCI Secretary Anurag Thakur promised a well-organized World Cup.

5. The women's semi-finals and final will be followed by the men's knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals. The men's event will carry a total prize money of USD 5.6 million, which is an 86 per cent increase from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize money for the women's event
is USD 400,000 which is a 122 per cent increase from the Bangladesh event.

6. There have been five different winners of the men's event while the England women's team won the inaugural tournament at home in 2009 before Australia won three straight titles in the West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in 2010, 2012 and 2014, respectively.
7. Hosts India, which won the inaugural tournament in South Africa in 2007 are in Super 10 Group 2 along with 2009 winner Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and the Group A winner.
8. The ICC World Twenty20 trophy was also showcased at the ceremony before its departure to Scotland on December 13, as part of the Nissan Trophy Tour. The trophy will return to New Delhi on 1 February after visiting 11 countries.

Also read:
India to begin Under 19 World Cup campaign against Australia

Latest News from Sports News Desk