Chennai: After registering a scintillating win against the Caribbean, Team India will face defending champions Australia in the quarter-finals of the cricket World Cup on March 24 at Ahmedabad.

India on Sunday thumped West Indies by 80 runs to finish second in the group B with nine points, behind South Africa (10 points).

India will take on the Australia, who won the World Cup title three times on the trot in 1999, 2003 and 2007, in Ahmedabad on March 24.

Although West Indies lost the match, they still made it to the knock-out stage with the help of better run rate over Bangladesh, who are tied with Darren Sammy's men at six points.

The Caribbean team is placed fourth and will take on 1992 Champions Pakistan at Mirpur on March 23rd in the first quarterfinal match of the World Cup.

England, who are at the third place in group B, will take on Sri Lanka in the last quarter-final match at Colombo on March 26.

South Africa will take on New Zealand, who are placed fourth in group A.

India have an ominous record against Australia in the World Cup as they have not beaten the Aussies since 1987.

In the 2003 World Cup, Sourav Ganguly-led Indian team lost to Australia in the title clash in South Africa, while in the 1999 edition India lost to the Aussies in the Super six stage.

In the 1992 and 1996 World Cup, India lost to Australia in the league stages.

In the 1987 edition, India beat Australia by 56 runs at Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi after losing the first league match by one-run.

Also in the 1983 World Cup, Kapil Dev's men lost to Australia in the first league match before defeating them by 118 runs in the return leg.

Quarterfinal line-up

March 23 - Pakistan Vs West Indies at Dhaka

March 24 - Australia Vs India at Ahmedabad

March 25 - New Zealand Vs South Africa at Dhaka

March 26 - Sri Lanka Vs England at Colombo