The resolution 'Raising the flags of non-member observer States at the United Nations' was adopted on Thursday by a vote of 119 in favour to 8 against, with 45 delegations abstaining.
Voting against the resolution were Australia, Canada, Israel, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Palau, Tuvalu and the United States.
By the terms of that text, the General Assembly decided that the flags of non-member observer States maintaining permanent observer missions at Headquarters shall be raised at Headquarters and United Nations offices following the flags of the Members States of the Organisation.
The Assembly took the decision noting the participation of non-member observer States that maintain permanent observer missions at Headquarters, of which there are currently two – the Holy See and Palestine, in its sessions and work.
Palestine became an observer state in 2012. The Vatican has been a non-member observer state since 1964.


Latest News from World News Desk