Chennai: The cricket teams of India and New Zealand left for Colombo this morning to compete in the World Twenty20 championship, starting from September 18.

New Zealand won the two-match T20 series against India after beating the hosts in thrilling encounter at the M A Chidambaram Stadium here last night.

The first T20 match between the two sides at Visakhapatnam last week was washed away.

India will open its World T20 campaign on September 19 against Afghanistan while New Zealand will play their first match two days later against Bangladesh.

The summit clash of the tournament is slated for October 7 in Colombo.


Latest News from Sports News Desk