Up against Kuwait in the Suwon Gymnasium, the Indian men's team blanked the West Asian nation 3-0 in a Group B match.

Soumyajit Ghosh started on an auspicious note as the Siliguri-born player won a tricky battle against Albahrani Husain 11-1 11-5 5-11 11-6 in 17 minutes.

Star paddler Achanta Sharath Kamal was next and the three-times Commonwealth Games champion was quick to dispatch Albalhan Jaber 11-5 12-10 11-5 in just 15 minutes.

Riding the 2-0 lead, Amalraj Arputharaj Anthony, who won a doubles silver in the Glasgow CWG this year with Sharath Kamal, made no mistake against Alanssari Basel as he took the team to a 3-0 triumph with a 11-5 11-8 11-2 victory in 12 minutes.

Meanwhile, Indian men's team turned lucky in a Group A game when they got a walkover against Nepal.

The Indian women's teams also did not falter against Malaysia and Nepal in their respective group matches.

In a Preliminary Round Group A Division 4 game, the women's team comprising Manika Batra, Madhurika Suhas Patkar and Ankita Das beat Nepal 3-0.

Manika outplayed Shrestha Nabita 11-8 11-5 11-2, while Madhurika thrashed Kajol Rauniyar 11-5 11-1 11-5 in just 11 minutes.

Ankita had her task cut out when she came in last but was clinical in her win against Elina Maharjan 11-6 11-5 11-2.

The preliminary round Group A Division 2 match was no different as West Bengal star Poulomi Ghatak battled past Lee Wei Beh of Malaysia 11-9 15-17 11-8 11-5 in just about half-an-hour's time.

Manika then had it a little easy against Ying Ho as the Delhi girl won the second match 11-5 11-8 11-7 in 18 minutes.

In the end, the much-fancied Neha Aggarwal, the only Indian women's paddler to compete in the Olympics way back 2008, did not disappoint as she won 11-6 11-6 11-4 against Lee Rou You.

Latest News from Sports News Desk