Gayle was sidelined following a hamstring injury sustained during the tour of India last month and Pollard, who did not travel to the subcontinent, is recovering from a knee injury, reports CMC.

Kirk Edwards, who is part of the West Indies Test team in New Zealand, has replaced Gayle in the 15-man squad announced on Thursday.

West Indies selectors have replaced left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul with Nikita Miller.

Permaul had played two ODIs on the tour of India and took only one wicket.

The players in the ODI squad not currently taking part in the Test series in New Zealand have assembled in Barbados for a week-long training camp that ends next Sunday.

The camp will include a series of training matches against players drawn from Barbados and the Sagicor WIHPC.

A release from the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) says Lendl Simmons will arrive a couple days late for the camp due to personal reasons.

The joining ODI players are due to arrive in New Zealand on December 21.

The Squad:

Dwayne Bravo (captain), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Narsingh Deonarine, Kirk Edwards, Jason Holder, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Kieron Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons.


Latest News from Sports News Desk