Chandigarh: Opposition Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) on Wednesday accused the Haryana government of "discrimination" regarding awarding Olympic 2012 medal winners who did not belong to the state.

Raising the issue during the Question Hour in the state Assembly in Chandigarh, INLD MLA Abhay Chautala demanded from Haryana government to honour the Olympic 2012 medal winners, belonging to other states.

"When you have honoured four out of six Olympic medal winners despite the fact that only one out of four was from Haryana state then why you left out two who were from other states while announcing the awards," Chautala said.

Replying to the same, Haryana Parliamentary Affairs minister Randeep Singh Surjewala said that awards were given to those who belonged to Haryana only.

Later talking to media, Chautala alleged that despite the fact that badminton player Saina Nehwal, shooter Gagan Narang and wrestler Sushil Kumar did not belong to Haryana, Congress-led Haryana government gave awards to them. Three of them never participated in any state competitions, he further alleged.


Latest News from Haryana News desk