Here, we have enlisted some facts about the Indian currency that you all should know:

1. The process of issuing paper currency started in the 18th century and the first paper note was issued by Bank of Hindustan.

2. 5,000 and 10,000 rupee notes were in circulation between 1954 and 1978.

3. At the time of independence, the division of the rupee was in annas. 16 annas used to make one rupee.

4. Apart from Hindi and English languages which appear on the front side of a note, 15 other languages appear on the reverse side which includes: Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

5. If you look at the coins carefully, you will notice different symbols below the year. These symbols indicate the place where the coins have been minted.

Delhi (Noida): Dot symbol
Mumbai: Diamond
Hyderabad: Star
Kolkata: No symbol

6. The current series of bank notes are called 'Mahatma Gandhi Series' which was introduced in 1996.

7. Only one rupee notes and coins are printed by the Central government, while all the other notes are printed by RBI.

8. 500 and 1000 rupee notes are banned in Nepal.

9. The rupee was the currency of several other countries like Aden, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, the Trucial States, Kenya, Uganda, the Seychelles and Mauritius in the early 20th Century.

10. Coins can be issued up to the denomination of Rs 1000 as per Coinage Act, 2011.

Latest News  from Business News Desk