Continuing his dream run Uthappa played the sheet anchor role in his unbeaten 83 from 51 balls (10x4, 1x6) in a 121 runs partnership from 70 balls with Shakib Al Hasan (60 from 38 balls; 5x3, 3x6) to help KKR post a towering 195/4.
This was Uthappa's fifth half-century this season as with a tally of 572 runs, the KKR opener usurped the Orange Cap from Glen Maxwell (533), who was holding on to the pole since the start of season seven in Abu Dhabi on April 16.
Defending the massive total, off-spinner Sunil Narine joined the party and executed the role of wrecker-in-chief to perfection grabbing 4/20 to hand KKR a sixth successive win, a milestone they had only posted in their triumphant 2012 season.
After Umesh Yadav gave the breakthrough in Chris Gayle (6) who got out to a dubious lbw decision, Yogesh Takawale and Virat Kohli kept RCB in the hunt in their must-win match with an 85-run partnership but Narine struck twice in his third over scalping both the dangerman to keep them in check.
He returned the same way in his fourth over this time claiming another two prized sclaps of Yuvraj Singh (22) and AB de Villiers (13) to turn the match around.
In fact Narine did not do badly in following Uthappa, though in the leading wicket takers tally as he remained one away from Purple Cap holder Bhuvneshwar Kumar's (Sunrisers Hyderabad) tally of 20.
KKR were reduced to 56/3 in the seventh over at the sun bathed Eden Gardens after Virat Kohli put the home team up front but Uthappa defied the heat to take the attack to theb opposition.
Shakib Al Hasan played a perfect ally and was more brute at the other end as the Bangladeshi all-rounder spanked 38-ball 60 and the duo put together 121 runs from 70 balls for the fourth wicket to stage a remarkable recovery against a frail RCB bowling attack.


KKR: Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir (captain), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Suryakumar Yadav, R Vinay Kumar, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Sunil Narine.
RCB: Chris Gayle, Yogesh Takawale, Virat Kohli (captain), Yuvraj Singh, AB de Villiers, Sachin Rana, Mitchell Starc, Abu Nechim, Ashok Dinda, YS Chahal, Muttiah Muralitharan.


Latest News from Sports News Desk