There are 230 Indian players and 121 overseas players who are eligible to play in IPL 2016, out of which, the maximum number of players who can be auctioned is 116.

101 players were retained by different franchises, while 61 cricketers were released. These includes the like of: Yuvraj Singh, SL captain Angelo Mathews, George Bailey, Pragyan Ojha, Dinesh Karthik, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Dale Steyn and Kevin Pietersen among others.

The most expensive player of 2015 was Yuvraj Singh. He was bought by Daredevils for massive amount of Rs 16 crores and the most expensive domestic player was Shreyas Iyer, he was bought for Rs 2.6 crore and he represented Delhi along with Yuvi.

Here is the list of players who got the biggest pie in IPL auction 2016:

Shane Watson: bought for Rs 9.5 crore by RCB

Yuvraj Singh bought for Rs 7.0 crore by Sunrisers Hyderabad

Mohit Sharma bought for Rs 6.5 crore by Kings XI Punjab

Ashish Nehra bought for Rs 5.5 crore by Sunrisers Hyderabad

Ishant Sharma: bought for Rs 3.8 crore by Pune Super Giants

Kevin Pietersen: bought for Rs 3.5 crore by Pune Super Giants

Dale Steyn and Dwayne Smith: bought for Rs 2.3 each crore by Gujarat Lions

Pawan Negi: bought for Rs 8.5 crore by Delhi Daredevils

Australian T20 captain Aaron Finch and NZ batsman Martin Guptill remained unsold in the first session

Compiled by: Ira Shukla

IPL auction: Shane Watson sold for Rs 9.5 crore to become first million-dollar buy

Latest News from Sports News Desk