Pune: It will be a battle to avoid the wooden spoon when laggards Pune Warriors and Delhi Daredevils take field for one last time in the 2013 season of the Pepsi Indian Premier League on Sunday.
Already out of contention for a berth in the knock-out stage, the teams would play only for pride. The two bottom- placed teams have had a disastrous tournament this year and would aim to sign off on a winning note.
On the points table there is not much difference between the two teams as both have won three of their 15 matches and have six points each but Delhi are placed higher by the virtue of their net-run-rate.
Pune Warriors snapped their nine-match losing streak by stunning defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders in their previous match and they would take a lot of confidence from that win, going into this clash. They would look to avoid finishing at the same position they held last year.
On the other hand, the Daredevils who were the first team to book their place at play-offs last year have been a pale shadow this year and would be eager to end the listless performance.
Teams from:
Pune Warriors:
Aaron Finch (captain), Angelo Mathews, Abhishek Nayar, Ajanta Mendis, Ali Murtaza, Anustup Mazumdar, Ashoke Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dheeraj Jadhav, Eklavya Dwivedi, Harpreet Singh, Ishwar Pandey, Kane Richardson, Krishnakant Upadhyay, Luke Wright, Mahesh Rawat, Manish Pandey, Marlon Samuels, Mitchell Marsh, Mithun Manhas, Parveez Rasool, Rahul Sharma, R Gomez, Robin Uthappa, Shrikant Wagh, T Suman, Tamim Iqbal, Udit Birla, Wayne Parnell and Yuvraj Singh.
Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardane (captain), Virender Sehwag, David Warner, Umesh Yadav, Manpreet Juneja, Ashish Nehra, Naman Ojha, Irfan Pathan, Andre Russell, Kedar Jadhav, Ajit Agarkar, Johan Botha, Unmukt Chand, Morne Morkel, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ben Rohrer, Sidharth Kaul, Jeevan Mendis, Yogesh Nagar, Sujeet Nayak, Pavan Negi, Aristh Singhvi, Roelof van der Merwe, Venugopal Rao and Gulam Bodi.


Latest News from Sports News Desk