Bangalore: Their campaign sent haywire by a couple of unexpected losses, Royal Challengers Bangalore are now faced with a must-win situation when they take on former champions Chennai Super Kings in a crucial Pepsi IPL match on Saturday.
Bangalore's seven-wicket loss to Kings XI Punjab in their last match ended up confirming the play-off berths for Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals.
The three top teams have crossed the 20-point mark which leaves three other teams -- Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kings XI Punjab -- chasing the fourth spot in the points table.
Victory over Delhi Daredevils took Punjab to 14 points and they are two behind Bangalore (16) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (16). Punjab have one more match against Mumbai Indians on May 18 and they will aim to finish on 16 points.
Bangalore must beat Chennai to move to 18 points but that will not assure them a place in the final four. For them to qualify, Hyderabad and Punjab have to lose their remaining games.
Playing their last league game this season, Royal Challengers have a tough task against Chennai, who have been in top form, losing only four of the 15 games played this season.
Chennai will have nothing to lose and would try to upset Royal Challengers' chances to sneak into play-offs.
The last time both teams met was on April 13 at M A Chidambaram Stadium when Chennai trounced Bangalore by four wickets.

Teams (from):
Royal Challengers Bangalore:
Virat Kohli (C), A B de Villiers, Abhimanyu Mithun, Abhinav Mukund, Andrew McDonald, Arun Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Chris Gayle, Christopher Barnwell, Daniel Christian, Daniel Vettori, Harshal Patel, Jaidev Unadkat, K P Appanna, Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Moises Henriques, Murali Kartik, Muttiah Muralitharan, Pankaj Singh, Prasanth Parameswaran, R Vinay Kumar, Ravi Rampaul, Rudra Pratap Singh, S Aravind, Sandeep Warrier, Saurabh Tiwary, Sheldon Jackson, Sunny Sohal, Syed Mohammad, Tilakaratne Dilshan, Vijay Zol, Zaheer Khan.
Chennai Super Kings: M S Dhoni (C), Akila Dananjaya, Albie Morkel, Srikkanta Anirutha, Ankit Rajpoot, Baba Aparajith, Ben Hilfenhaus, Ben Laughlin, Chris Morris, Dirk Nannes, Dwayne Bravo, Francois du Plessis, Imtiyaz Ahmed, Jason Holder, Michael Hussey, Mohit Sharma, Murali Vijay, Nuwan Kulasekara, R Karthikeyan, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ronit More, Shadab Jakati, S Badrinath, Suresh Raina, Vijay Shankar and Wridhiman Saha.


Latest News from Sports News Desk