Jaipur: Rahul Dravid and Ajinkya Rahane struck fluent half-centuries as Rajasthan Royals inched closer towards securing a play-off berth with a comprehensive nine-wicket victory against Delhi Daredevils in a Pepsi Indian Premier League match on Tuesday.


Dravid led from the front with a classy 48-ball-53, his fourth half-century in this IPL edition, while Rahane played an equally impressive unbeaten knock of 63 as Royals maintained their impeccable record at home. They now have 16 points with eight wins and look like firm contenders for a berth in knock-out round.
Delhi Daredevils, whose season has gone from bad to worse stay put on eight position with six points.
Royals registered their seventh win at home with 13 balls to spare, scoring 155 for one. Shane Watson remained unbeaten on 14-ball 28, laced with three fours and one six.
Dravid and Rahane added 108 runs for the opening-wicket partnership in just 13.4 overs with the former India captain playing the more aggressive knock of the two.
In the process, Royals also registered their highest opening-wicket partnership in this edition of the IPL, surpassing 98 runs against Pune Warriors last week.
For Daredevils, Rohrer hit a fine 39-ball 63 under trying conditions while Mahela Jayawardene (34) and Kedar Jadhav (23 no) also chipped in with useful contributions to help their side post a competitive 154 for four but, in the end, the total did not prove to be enough.
Royals made a confident start to their run-chase with the trusted opening pair of Dravid and Rahane once again providing their team a good start.
Daredevils made as many as four changes in their bowling department for this game did not come to any help to them as the duo of Dravid and Rahane played them with utmost ease.
Sehwag looked in good touch, hitting James Faulkner for two consecutive fours, before the lanky Australian pacer flummoxed him with a slower ball which swung in uprooting the off-stump.

Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (c), Virender Sehwag, CM Gautam, Morne Morkel, David Warner, Pawan Negi, Ben Rohrer, Kedar Jadhav, Ajit Agarkar, Siddharth Kaul and Umesh Yadav.
Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Shane Watson, Stuart Binny, Brad Hodge, Sanju Vishwanadh, Sachin Baby, James Faulkner, Shaun Tait, Praveen Tambe and Siddharh Trivedi.


Latest News from Sports News Desk