Contesting from New Delhi constituency, considered a Congress pocket burough, Kejriwal fought against three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Vijender Gupta.

The AAP leader got 44,269 votes defeating Dikshit who got 18,405 votes. BJP's Gupta came in a close third with 17,952 votes.

Waving to throngs of cheering and dancing supporters at AAP's Hanuman Road party office in Connaught Place in New Delhi, Kejriwal, who briefly appeared at the first-floor window in the midst of his party's confabulations, said: "This isn't my victory…it's a victory of the people of New Delhi constituency and victory of democracy."

As his supporters waved the broom, the party symbol, Kejriwal said that he was always confident of his party's victory.

Following Dikshit's resignation on Sunday, Delhi Lieutenant-Governor Najeeb Jung dissolved the legislative assembly and forwarded the resignation to President Pranab Mukherjee.

AAP leader Kumar Vishwas, standing next to Kejriwal, shouted into the mike, "Bharat Mata ki Jai" and "Aam aadmi hain, hum aam aadmi hain (We are the common people)."


Latest News from State News Desk