Mumbai: The Maharashtra government has appointed a special public prosecutor to fight its case against the eleven accused in the murder of senior journalist Jyotirmoy Dey.

Raja Thakare is the special public prosecutor in the case, sources said adding the notification pertaining to his appointment was issued on Tuesday.

Dey (56), editor of investigations with a tabloid here, was shot dead in broad daylight by three assailants allegedly affiliated to gangster Chhota Rajan outside his house at Powai on June 11, 2011.

While the crime branch has filed its chargesheet against ten persons, it is yet to file its supplementary chargesheet against journalist Jigna Vora, the eleventh arrested accused in the case.

All the accused have been booked under the strict provisions of MCOCA and various sections of IPC. After the chargesheet is filed, a special MCOCA court would frame charges against them.

On December 3, police had filed chargesheets against ten arrested accused—Rohee Thangappan Joseph alias Satish Kalya, Abhijeet Shinde, Arun Dake, Sachin Gaikwad, Anil Waghmode, Nilesh Shendge, Mangesh Agawane, Vinod Asrani, Paulson Joseph and Deepak Sisodia.

Thakare is also special public prosecutor in various other cases including the July 11, 2006 serial train blasts, Aurangabad Arms Haul case and murder case against gangster-turned-politician Arun Gawli.