"We have re-organised our legislative team in order to strengthen our operations withing the Assembly. For this, Jadav Deka will be the new leader in the Assembly," BJP National vice-president SS Ahluwalia told reporters here.

Prasanta Phukan was earlier the legislative leader for BJP in the state Assembly.

BJP has also appointed Manoranjan Das as the Chief Whip of the party and Dilip Moran as the Secretary of the legislative team, Ahluwalia said.

The Budget Session of the Assam Legislative Assembly is beginning on Monday and it will end on August 29.

Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, who also holds the Finance portfolio, will present the Budget for 2014-15 on August 11.

Latest News from State News Desk