Thimappa's announcement came a day after he had recognized the merger of Karnataka Janata Paksha with four MLAs into BJP with 40 members, boosting its tally to 44 in the 224-member Assembly.
JDS' former chief minister HD Kumaraswamy, son of former prime minister HD Devegowda, whose party has 40 members, has yielded his status to Shettar.

Though both BJP and JDS had 40 members, Gowda's party was recognized as the principal opposition earlier based on its higher vote share.
Thimappa had on Wednesday accepted the merger under the relevant anti-defection law based on letters from leaders of both BJP and KJP, as well as from four MLAs of Yeddyurappa's outfit.
Four MLAs - Yeddyurappa, UB Banakar, Gurupadappa Nagmarpalli and Vishwanath Patil - followed in Yeddyurappa's footsteps.

However, two other KJP MLAs BR Patil and Guru Patil refused to follow suit, despite having good relations with the Lingayat strongman.
With Lok Sabha polls just months away, both BJP and KJP had recently merged, a little more than a year after Yeddyurappa had parted company with his parent party with his removal as Chief Minister in July 2012 over Lokayukta findings on illegal mining triggering his exit.
Battered in the May 8 Assembly polls, which saw the downfall of its first ever government in the South, BJP is hoping to revive its fortunes in the general election following the merger.


Latest News from State News Desk