Sitharaman, who was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh, took oath in English while Javadekar, who was elected from Madhya Pradesh, took oath in Hindi.

JD(U) leaders Gulam Rasool Balyawi and Pawan Kumar Verma, who were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Bihar recently, also took the oath.

Congress leaders MV Rajeev Gowda and BK Hariprasad, BJD’s Anubhab Mohanty and Bhupinder Singh, and Samajwadi Party leader Vishambhar Prasad Nishad also took oath in the Rajya Sabha.  

The leaders shook hands with Rajya Sabha chairman Mohammad Hamid Ansari after taking the oath.

The Rajya Sabha then mourned the death of its former member Shanti G Patel.

“In passing away of Patel, the country has lost a veteran freedom fighter, an able parliamentarian, a noted trade unionist and a dedicated social worker," said Ansari.

Patel, who was Mayor of Mumbai during 1970-71, represented Maharashtra in the Upper House from July 1980 to July 1986.
The House also lauded PSLV-23 for successfully launching five satellites of France, Germany, Canada and Singapore on June 30.

“The successful launch was yet another milestone in success story of Indian space programme for which scientists and technicians need to be congratulated,” said Ansari.


Latest News from India News Desk