Addressing a press conference on the occasion of her 66th birthday, Jayalalithaa declared that her party would fight the coming Lok Sabha elections on the plank of ‘peace, progress and prosperity’ and her ‘wish is to win all the 40 seats’.
Though her party has already entered into a poll pact with Left parties (CPI and CPI-M) , Jayalalithaa named candidates for 39 seats in Tamil Nadu and the lone seat in Puducherry. She said the party would withdraw candidates from seats allocated to allies.
"The alliance talks with CPI and CPI-M were still on and no conclusion has been reached so far. Therefore, AIADMK will withdraw its candidates in constituencies that will go for allies", she said.    

"I appeal to people of Tamil Nadu to cooperate with us for peace, progress and prosperity not only for Tamil Nadu but also for entire India,” she added.

Indicating that no more parties will join the AIADMK-led front, Jayalalithaa said, "This alliance (of Left parties and a few small local outfits) is enough."
As announced earlier, her party will face the elections with the slogan of ‘Peace, Prosperity and Progress’ and it will be explained in detail in the election manifesto which will be released soon, she said.
The Chief Minister, who aspires for a clean sweep of elections besides envisaging a bigger political role for herself and her party post-elections, said her aim was to win all the 40 seats in the state and Puducherry.
Asked if she would seek a special package for Tamil Nadu on the lines of some states including Bihar, which has been pressing for such a sop, Jayalalithaa said, “This government is on its way out. We will get whatever (we want) from a new government (which will be formed) in June.”

  Soon after coming to power in May 2011, Jayalalithaa had demanded that her state be given a special package.
People of Seemandhra have been demanding special package in the wake of bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has also been pressing for a similar scheme for his state.

Advocates dominate list of AIADMK nominees

Advocates dominated the list of AIADMK's nominees for the coming Lok Sabha elections as party chief Jayalalithaa renominated three of the nine sitting MPs for a successive term.
Party's Parliamentary Leader M Thambidurai (Karur), Dr P Venugopal MBBS (Tiruvallore-SC) and P Kumar (Tircuhirappally) were lucky to be renominated as candidates to the same constituencies for the ensuing polls by Jayalalithaa at an announcement coinciding with her 66th birthday celebrations.
A total of 15 advocates were among the candidates the AIADMK supremo announced for all 39 seats in Tamil Nadu and the lone Puducherry segment. Four were doctors even as most of the candidates have at least an undergraduate degree.


Latest News from State News Desk