Party MLAs unanimously elected her as the Legislative Party leader in the meeting, party sources said.

Party Treasurer and Chief Minister O Panneeerselvam forwarded the motion to elect her as Legislative Party leader which was seconded by Electricity Minister Natham R Vishwanathan, the sources said, adding, it was adopted unanimously.

A beaming Cooperative Minister, Sellur K Raju, when asked if Jayalalithaa had been elected as LPP leader, said: "this is the happiest day of our life."

The 67-year-old leader was disqualified following her conviction in the Rs 66.66 crore disproportionate assets case by a trial court in Bengaluru on September 27. The Karnataka High Court had subsequently acquitted her of the charges on May 11.

Jayalalithaa is expected to stake claim for forming the government, with the resignation of incumbent Panneerselvam being a mere formality.

Latest News from State News Desk