While declaring the names of awardees for this year's government awards instituted in the names of Tamil leaders and Tamil saint-poet Thiruvalluvar, it was announced that the awards would be distributed on January 15.
The awardees requested that they would like to get the honour from the Chief Minister directly. In deference to their request, Jayalalithaa would present the awards on January 26, an official release said on Tuesday.
However, Taiwanese poet Yusi will be conferred the Thiruvalluvar Award by Minister for Finance and Public Works Department, O Panneerselvam on the occasion of Thiruvalluvar Day celebrations on Wednesday.
Former DMDK leader Panrutty S Ramachandran, who quit the Vijayakanth-led party on December was chosen for the ‘Perarignar Anna Award’.
Seven others were chosen for the other awards named after Thanthai Periyar, Annal Ambedkar, Perunthalaivar Kamarajar, Mahakavi Bharathiar, Pavendar Bharathidasan, Tamil Thendral Thiru Vi Ka, Muttamizh Kavalar Ki Aa Pe Viswanatham.
The awards carry Rs one lakh cash, one sovereign of gold medal and a citation.


Latest News from State News Desk