After MDMK, another key National Democratic Alliance (NDA) partner AIADMK is also upset with the move, sources said.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa is reportedly disappointed with the decision and is expected to give a miss to the event.

MDMK founder Vaiko earlier on Wednesday opposed Rajapaksa’s participation in the event, saying his presence would hurt the feelings of the Tamil people.

Vaiko claimed that the Congress party was shown the door by the people of Tamil Nadu for allegedly helping Colombo in its pursuit against LTTE ‘in which thousands of Tamil civilians were killed’.

Several political parties in Tamil Nadu allege that civilian casualties of the Tamils rose during the last leg of the war against LTTE with Rajapaksa at the helm of affairs.

The Centre's reasoning that he was part of the SAARC nation’s leaders who have been invited for the swearing-in was not acceptable and his participation in the ceremony would result in ‘grief and regret’ for Tamil people, he added.

Vaiko recalled that Sri Lanka was not invited when BJP's Atal Bihari Vajpayee was sworn-in as the Prime Minister in 1998-99 and the subsequent ceremonies to mark assuming of offices by the Congress-led UPA in 2004 and 2009.


Latest News from India News Desk