Besides Yadav, who lost to RJD's Pappu Yadav from Madhepura LS seat, several JD (U) leaders like Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh, Rural Works Minister Bhim Singh and Extremely Backward Classes (EBC) Cell chief Chandreshwar Prasad Chandravanshi are lobbying hard for Upper House.

There were reports that former chief minister Nitish Kumar may move to Rajya Sabha but he will stay rooted to Bihar for the assembly polls due in 2015. On Thursday, Kumar was appointed Head of the Committee on Petition in the state Legislative Council.

The election to the Rajya Sabha seats was necessitated after three Bihar leaders got elected to the Lok Sabha.

Rudy defeated former chief minister Rabri Devi in Saran, whereas Ram Kripal Yadav trounced Misa Bharti in Paltiputra in the recently concluded Lok Sabha polls. However, the RJD had not pressed for Ram Kripal’s disqualification as RS Member despite former Lalu-aide defecting to BJP.

According to Representation of the People Act, notification for all three seats will be issued separately.


Latest News from Bihar News Desk