Chapra (Bihar): Lalu Prasad's Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is set to win Maharajganj Lok Sabha by-poll as its candidate Prabhunath Singh has gained a decisive lead over JD-U candidate PK Shahi amid ongoing counting of votes.

Prabhunath Singh, who had won the seat three times in past, is leading against JD (U)’s PK Shahi by a margin of more than 31,000 votes after the first three rounds of counting. The lead is expected to be greater when counting is rounded off around 3 pm.

RJD President Lalu Prasad Yadav, who worked hard for his party candidate by staying in the constituency for 10 days, told reporters in Patna that the Maharajganj by-poll result would trigger the beginning of fall of the Nitish Kumar government.

"It will not be a defeat of Shahi but a defeat of Nitish Kumar in Maharajganj," he said. Lalu said the Maharajganj poll outcome would be an indication of things to come in the 2014 general election for 40 seats in Bihar.

The defeat for the ruling JD-U comes at a crucial time when Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is seen as a potential prime ministerial candidate in 2014 and often compared with Narendra Modi, whom a section of the BJP wants to project as the main contender.

The by-poll was necessitated after the death of Umashankar Singh, an RJD MP.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk