A day after election to the two RS seats, 19 JD(U) rebels met at the residence of Gyanendra Singh Gyanu to chalk out future course of action.
Gyanu, MLA from Barh in Patna district, who is leading the dissidents, said that "we are not demoralised by failing to ensure victory of our candidates in the voting."
The two unsuccessful Independent candidates fielded by rebels - real estate baron Anil Sharma and Sabir Ali also attended the meeting to express solidarity.
Gyanu said the meeting decided to continue with their protest against "highhandedness" of former Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.
"We will go to the people's court and expose wrongdoings of the party and government on emerging issues during assembly session," Gyanu said.
Altogether 19 JD(U) MLAs defied party direction and voted against official candidates--diplomat-turned politician Pavan Pavan Varma and Gulam Rasool Balyawi--alongside BJP and three Independents.
The dissidents up in arm against the party leadership ever since induction of 14 Ministers in Jitan Ram Manjhi Cabinet on May 20 forced Nitish Kumar to shake hands with Lalu Prasad to see party candidates through in the crucial bypoll for the two RS seats.
Besides, Gyanu, rebels include Poonam Devi, Ajit Kumar, Anil Kumar, Ravindra Rai, Amla Devi, Sujata Devi and Rahul Sharma among others.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk