Speaker Dinesh Oraon took up the counting of heads after the opposition insisted for a division of votes and the Raghubar Das government comfortably disapproved the cut motion by a margin of 40-37 in the 81-member House.

Replying against the cut motion brought by Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) MLA Pradip Yadav and two other opposition members, Parliamentary Affairs Minister C P Singh said the supplementary budget was brought to meet requirements inherited from the previous government.

Responding to the opposition leaders placing various demands during their speeches in support of the motion, Singh said on one hand the opposition demanded industries, employment and prevention of migration and on the other, it opposed supplementary budget.
When leader of the opposition Hemant Soren drew the attention of Chief Minister Raghubar Das's absence in the House, the Speaker said a government functions with collective responsibility and all ministers present are part of it.

Latest News from State News Desk