The cabinet meeting, presided by Chief Minister Raghubar Das, was first of its kind in Kolhan region comprising East and West Singhbhum and Seraikela-Kharswan districts.

Among the 22 decisions taken at the meeting, it has been approved to hike the salaries of the legislators and cabinet ministers, said S K Satpathy, Principal Secretary, Cabinet Secretariat and Coordination Department.

As per the revised pay structure, the Chief Minister will now draw a salary of Rs 24.60 lakh per annum against Rs 17.22 lakh while cabinet ministers will get Rs 21.60 lakh per annum against the existing Rs 15.30 lakh.

The MLAs will draw a salary of Rs 21.64 lakh per annum against Rs 11.62 lakh earlier, said Satpathy, who was accompanied by the Principal Secretary (Agriculture) Nitin Madan Kulkarni.

The Opposition Leader and Chief Whip will draw Rs 1,75,000 per month against Rs 89,000 now and Rs 1,57,500 against existing Rs 89,500 per month, respectively.

The speaker will now get Rs 1,75,000 per month against Rs 1,04,500 and the deputy speaker's monthly salary was hiked to Rs 1,56,000 from Rs 82,500, he said.

In case of death of a polling personnel engaged in panchayat/municipal poll, the family members will get a compensation of Rs 10 lakh while a compensation of Rs 20 lakh will be given if a personnel is killed in Naxal-related incidents, he said.

Latest News from Jharkhand News Desk