Eight of the 82 legislators have filed their nominations for the Lok Sabha polls. Of the eight, seven belongs to the ruling alliance. Among them three quit their assembly membership, two belonged to the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and one a Congress legislator.

Two JMM legislators Hemalal Murmu and Vidyut Baran Mahto, who have joined the BJP, have been fielded as Lok Sabha candidates from Rajmahal and Jamshedpur seats. Chandra Shekhar Dubey, a Congressman, is fighting on TMC ticket from Dhanbad seat.

Two legislators Bandhu Tirkey and Chamra Linda, who were supporting Hemant Soren’s government, have joined the TMC and they are fighting the polls from Ranchi and Lophardagga seat. JMM legislator Jagganath Mahto is fighting from Giridih seat on party ticket.

Another legislator Geeta Koda, who is supporting the government, is also fighting from Chaibasa seat. Geeta Koda is wife of former chief minister Madhu Koda.

From opposition parties, only one legislator Pradeep Yadav of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P) is fighting from Godda seat.

In the 82 member assembly, Hemant was enjoying support of 43 legislators. After three legislators supporting his government quit membership then the strength was reduced to 79 and it also reduced the supporting legislator’s strength to 40.

Opposition party’s strength is 39. In such a scenario, even if two of the four legislators supporting Hemant Soren’s government are elected to the Lok Sabha then the government will reduce to a minority.

Hemant Soren during the poll campaigns admitted that there was a move to destabilize his government and appealed to party supporters to prepare for any eventuality.


Latest News from State News Desk