Ranchi: A total of six candidates filed their nominations for biennial elections to the two Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand. Monday was the last date for filing nomination for the Upper House.

The state assembly witnessed huge crowd on Monday morning. The official candidate of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha, Praveen Kumar Singh filed his nomination on Monday. Bharatiya Janata Party- All Jharkhand Student’s Union-Janata Dal United backed Anshuman Mishra, Pradeep Kumar Balmuchu of the Congress, Jharkhand

Mukti Morcha candidate Sanjiv Kumar, Independent Rajkumar Agarwal and Pawan Kumar Dhut filed their nominations. All the ten proposers of Agarwal are JMM MLAs while Dhut has support of independent MLAs.

With six candidates filing their nominations for Rajya Sabha polls, the state politics became interesting. A candidate needs 27 preference votes to win the seat in the 81-member House. No party in the Jharkhand assembly is in a position to get its candidate elected to the Rajya Sabha on its own.